Skip to main content

Air Liquide congratulates this year’s winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics, who are singled out for their work on the Higgs boson theory

  • Air Liquide

This announcement, bestowing the Nobel Prize in Physics on François Englert and Peter Higgs for their research on the Higgs boson, comes on the heels of the announcement of the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle by CERN on July 4, 2012.
The Higgs boson is considered to be one of the central pieces in the Standard Model of particle physics, which basically describes the way in which the world is built. This basic building block was discovered independently through the work of François Englert, Peter Higgs and Robert Brout (who died in 2011), which is being recognized today, but also thanks to the recreation of the conditions of the creation of the universe in CERN’s Large Hadron Collider (LHC) particle accelerator, located near Geneva where, in July of 2012, a particle with the characteristics of the Higgs boson was observed.

Air Liquide is a contributor to this exceptional project and, in particular, designed and developed the largest cryogenic supply system in the world for the LHC. This complex and innovative system ensures the distribution of liquid helium and cooling. The system distributes superfluid helium and keeps the 1,700 magnets of the LHC particle accelerator at a constant temperature of 1.9K (-271 C°), which is necessary for the optimal performance and stability of these magnets.

Press release: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013

Communication contacts

Media Relations Manager